Stirring The Pot


PHILLIPS REVELS IN HER ROLE AS BOSTON’S MOST UNCONVENTIONAL NETWORKER

Who in the world would host an event focusing on inclusion entitled “White Men Who Can Jump”?

Even better, who could get 12 white, male power brokers — including Boston Globe and Red Sox owner John Henry and Mayor Marty Walsh — in a Convention Center room together, laud them for breaking down racial and cultural barriers, then hold them accountable for continuing to create opportunities to all?

Colette Phillips, that’s who. Those who know Phillips wouldn’t be surprised by the success, or title, of last year’s gathering. And if you don’t know her, she’ll readily introduce herself, and have you stick around to meet other movers and shakers. It could be one of the U.S. presidents or corporate board chairs in the photos lining the walls of her State Street conference room overlooking Boston’s Custom’s House.

“Bringing together people of all backgrounds, in the same room, for doing business with each other — that’s what it’s all about,” she says, referring to Get Konnected, a monthly professional and social multicultural networking event that’s her latest venture.

“It’s taking Boston, a city that is so siloed, and getting people of all backgrounds to come together and network together across industries. Your network is your net worth.” Phillips recently connected with Boston Business Journal correspondent Robin Washington and spoke about her time in Boston and mentors.

Your first job was as press secretary to a prime minister (of Antigua.) Isn’t that the last job for a lot of people?

I was the first woman in the English-speaking Caribbean to have that job. I also worked in television because in Antigua the TV station is government owned, so I had a weekly television show.

It sounds like you were having fun, getting paid and doing something meaningful. Why did you leave?

I broke up with my fiancé. I thought it would be cathartic to go back to school. I went back to get my master’s in communication.

So you came back to Emerson … and I stayed. The experience I had with the whole busing thing inspired me. If you’re going to complain, you should step up and say I don’t like this and I’m going to change it. My whole business has been about breaking down barriers. Who was your first public relations client?

The Royal Sonesta Hotel. I had gone to pitch them initially and they said they needed a PR person to come in and be on board. At the end of nine months, I said to them, “Look, I can give you the same great service as a consultant as I’ve given to you. I don’t really need to be here five days a week.”

If you weren’t a publicist, what would you be?

I’d be a therapist. I love helping people solve their issues. The work that I do to a great extent is about really helping people to solve their challenges around their brand, around engagement, around connecting with people.

Why is it “Get Konnected” with a K?

Because I first created Kaleidoscope (a multicultural resource guide.) The other thing was when I tried to register it with a “C” it was already taken. It was about networking for computers and what-not. This will be my legacy in Boston, that I created an event getting people of all backgrounds … to come together and network with each other, across cultural lines, sexes and industries.

To hear more from this interview,
go to: http://www.bizjournals.com/
boston/video/

Leave a comment

Leave a comment